Skip to content

Moving On Up

January 28, 2013

If worms could talk, ours would be singing along with George Jefferson, “We’re movin’ on up…”

At the home show last weekend, me and the MR were pleasantly surprised at how many things we could say no to. With the heating fellows, I found words like ductless split rolling off my tongue and I actually kind of knew what I meant. We took care of the siding issue last summer, we don’t have a big remodel planned, and with our parabolic roof, we don’t even have gutters.

We did see some cool shades for the windows and some nice looking pavers for walkways, but for the most part, we could say no thanks we’ve got that covered. And then we went over to the gardening section and saw the penthouse of all worm bins. Earlier this month, I mentioned my issue with worms gone wild. They were busting the seams of my 20-gallon bin. While I have been harvesting a lot of “worm juice”, I haven’t taken out any worm castings or vermaculture.

The bin I have was cheap and easy to make, but it was awkward to manage. Who knew worms, shredded paper, and food scraps could weigh so much? I splurged and bought the Worm Factory 360–a $100 home for my worms.

Box of Goodness

The hawker at the fair claimed that you could move as much food through this compact version as you could through my giant bin. The huge plus is that it’s compartmentalized. Once one tray is full, you start on the next. The worms can move freely from one to another, and the bottom bin ends up fully composted. I figured it was worth a try. Worm castings are supposed to make great fertilizer and an amazing additive to seedling mix. Gardening season is almost here.

So I took out the kit that contained the new bin, coir, pumice, and paper shreddings. I soaked the coir in water, and added some worms–that’s something I have a whole lot of.

Worm Bin Collage

My Quality Assurance Team inspected my work to make sure I was doing a bang up job.

QA Team

In reality, I do believe they were more interested in the smelly scraps than the welfare of the worms. Now I have two bins working together to take care of our food waste.

Worm Metropolis2

Along with the bin, I received a garden thermometer, tools for working the bin, and a DVD that probably has more info than I would ever want to know about worm farming. I’ve been amazingly surprised at how easy, low maintenance, and beneficial a worm bin has been. So far my houseplants are loving it, and I’m excited to see how my seedlings fair with a little help from their squirmy friends.

Have you jumped on the worm bandwagon? Soon it’ll be part of every political campaign. “A chicken in every pot, and a worm bin in every garage…”

I was pleasantly surprised to get a shout out from Cedric the Great Worm at Ground to Ground a website dedicated to getting the word out about the benefits of using coffee grounds in gardening and composting. There’s nothing simpler than throwing the filter and grounds in the worm bin each morning. As a bonus it keeps my sink cleaner, too. Maybe I should talk to my niece who works at Starbucks about what they do with their grounds. Every little bit helps to make the world a little greener.

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. Lori permalink

    I don’t think I can do it. Just looking at those pictures makes me want to loose my lunch (actually, a more colorful descriptor came to mind, but I chose to tone it down).

    • You’re so cute. Most of the time both the food and worms are covered with shredded paper. You can live blissfully without seeing either, and your lunch stays where it belongs.

  2. Starbucks has bags of used coffee grounds that you can pick up for free. Every shop has them in a bucket somewhere in the shop, first come, first served, just take them and go. I pick them up often, great to add to the garden.

    • Do you take the bucket or bring your own container? Either way, it’s a great way to add to the compost pile or worm bin.

      Sent from iPhone

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. January–A Look Back « bigwhitehouseonthehill

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

