Just Go With It

Sometimes I get bogged down in the crush to be perfect. You’d think at my age I’d realized that’s just not going to happen. But no, I plan, I worry, I fret, I stress.

Well, this last week has been one of those weeks. Sweet Miss graduated from high school, and we wanted to celebrate with an open house for friends and family. I think open house, and I think finger foods, treats and punch. I asked Sweet Miss what she wanted and the list was very different: “good” corn bread (as opposed to that new recipe that was heavy as a rock), her favorite salads, BBQ chicken, deviled eggs, and the Mr piped in with steak. Hmm, this was more complicated than I expected.

Sweet Miss also had some interesting ideas on what to do at a graduation open house. She said these parties are boring, and she wanted games to liven things up. OK, so we’re planning a sit down menu for 50 people, and let’s throw in random party games. This was one of those times I could put my foot down and do what I thought was expected or just go with it. Hey it was my girl’s party, and her plan sounded fun.

So with a lot of help from my mother-in-law Theo and the whole family, we got this house together, made a ton of food, and set up party games. Now somewhere along the way, Sweet Miss mentioned she wanted a photo collage with pictures of herself growing up. Going through old photos is a chore in and of itself; my mom loved to take pictures. We bought poster boards, but we were running out of time when it hit me. We could just put pick up the glass and put them on the buffet. The pictures would be protected, visible, and easily removed. Luckily, my father-in-law had bought suction cups for us. I’d mentioned how we needed to dust under our glass topped counters but had no way to lift the glass. It was perfect timing, and I love the way it turned out.

I think this would be a great way to showcase pictures for a special birthday or holiday. While most people don’t have long glass counters, photos sandwiched between glass plates would add a fun and personal touch. We’ll have another grad party in a few years and further down the line, I’m hoping we’ll host a few engagement parties. Wouldn’t it be fun to showcase photos of the happy couple? For now, I’m glad we ran out of time and decided to think outside the box on this one.

And now for those of you wanting to liven up a graduation open house, here’s just a few party games to try. First we had the classic eating a doughnut off a string, then a water balloon toss, three-legged race and shaving balloons (note: dollar store razors aren’t very sharp). Then we had a pinata with Sweet Miss’ face on it. Why you ask? Because that’s the way she wanted it. And finally the party game to end all party games…the pie eating contest.

Sweet Miss and friends prepare to dig in.

Which quickly degraded into a food fight.

Baby Girl don’t mess with your grown up cousins.

We had such a good time, and some day I will learn to just relax and enjoy life.

Do your parties fit the “normal” mode? Do you have an interesting way to display pictures? When was the last time your party ended in a food fight?

2 thoughts on “Just Go With It

  1. I was there, had such a great time, was happy to have been asked to help. Family, that is what it is all about.!

  2. Pingback: A June Recap « bigwhitehouseonthehill

Leave a Reply

