Add a Little Beauty

Last week, me and the MR spent a few sun-filled days in beautiful Cabo San Lucas, Mexico. Our goal was to eat on the beach with our feet in the sand and simply relax.

I know it was a hard task before us, but we managed to eat most of our meals exactly as ordered. The Office is a well-known beach restaurant that we frequented. Along with offering the best coffee we had during our trip, they served up some amazing french toast. The MR enjoyed it on back-to-back mornings.

But it wasn’t just the french toast that made it special, it was the accompanying strawberries and whipped cream that I loved.

Strawberry Stack

I’m not a big whipped cream fan, but this idea is so clever. It’s visually exciting, adds height and contrast, and is economical. How often would my family be happy with just two strawberries plopped down on their french toast? Never. But when they’re sliced and stuck in a tower of whipped cream, it seems actually decadent. Most of the restaurants used a bit of cabbage to serve extras on a plate. In this desert climate, water is at a premium, so this would definitely help conserve during clean up. Pretty, compostable, and econimical; maybe I should pick up some cabbage.

In my hustle bustle life, I forget to take time to add a little beauty, and sometimes it’s so simple. It’s the little things that make me smile and bring joy to my life and to others. This week my goal is to share it a little more.

I think I’ll pull out the silver chargers for Christmas dinner, and maybe breakfast will feature a large dollop of whipped cream.

How are you adding beauty and joy to the world around you?

One thought on “Add a Little Beauty

  1. Pingback: Wrapping Up December « bigwhitehouseonthehill

Leave a Reply

