Sprinkle It Around

I told a friend we were thinking about painting the kitchen yellow. The first thing out of her mouth was that we’d have to add yellow in other places around the room. My response was huh? I wasn’t really excited about yellow in other places–maybe that was a sign.

Well, my buddy is a color expert who has wonderful ideas. She came out when we first moved in and has been giving us advice on color options ever since. She was the one who encouraged us to add more navy in the master suite so it looked intentional rather than a tan bedroom with a navy shower. That worked out fabulously, so when she talks, I listen.

She also said we should add more copper. We have a giant wall hanging that the MR’s dad made for us. It hangs in place of pride over the fireplace. I bought a perforated copper vase awhile back that adorned the mantel this fall. But I’m thinking a small piece and a large piece within a few feet of each other aren’t really what she was talking about.

Fireplace

So when I saw a copper garden stool for sale at Joss and Main, I decided it was just what we needed. For those of you who don’t know, Joss and Main is an online purveyor of fabulous things for the home. Every day, they send me an email filled with all sorts of collections, and sometimes I look at it and sometimes it goes straight to the trash. With the MR out of town, I had lots of time to look through those silly emails and found tons of treasures. Since he was in Europe, I didn’t want to bother him by asking whether he liked this or that, so I just bought all sorts of things.

Let’s get back to the important stuff–garden stools. I am a total fan of small tables, stools, and ottomans. They mix, they match, they can be used in many different areas and combinations. And a two-foot tall hunk of copper definitely adds a little more metal to this space. I’m just following advice and sprinkling it around.

photo 5 (14)

I know you’re just dying to see it. Well, here’s the before.

Old Square Table

The square side table sticks out into the walkway, and the puppy likes to grab the magazines and rip them up. It was time for a change.

Copper Stool and Loveseat

The copper stool won’t poke you as you walk by, it’s still large enough to hold a glass, and it can double as a seat in a pinch. It’s quite hard to keep the pillows in perfect order, since someone has taken to jumping from the footstool to the loveseat, chewing on a toy, and knocking the pillows to the floor.

Here we are a little more up close and personal.

Stool Up Close

Someday, we will replace all that furniture that the former owners left behind, and this little garden stool will find a nice corner to land. Copper, versatile, and cheap all make me happy.

What have you bought for your home lately? Do wild dogs follow you about edging their way into photos?

I’m totally excited about a copper project I’ve been working on for the last few weeks. You’re going to love it, but you have to wait till next week to hear all about it. Here’s a hint:  Penny for your thoughts.

5 thoughts on “Sprinkle It Around

  1. Love it! Nothing new bought for the home in a long time. I have been thinking about a couple of blank walls as well as adding something to a couple of whiles with canvas’ of my photography on them. I love the pics, but need something a little more to polish them off.

  2. Oh boy! I remember a couple of blogs ago you were wanting to by pennies, and the bank wanted to charge you for them. Guess you solved that problem because you are still talking pennies. Can’t wait………….love the stool!

  3. Pingback: February in Review | bigwhitehouseonthehill

Leave a Reply

