Sprucing Up the Microfiber

What do you do when you have a bit of time on your hands? Last week, for 12 hours a day, I tried to keep the dogs out of the painters way and tried to keep them from howling and yapping because they were locked up–they hate to feel left out.

This meant spending a lot of time in Baby Girl’s upstairs hangout room, a place totally devoid of painters, plastic, broken glass, and mayhem. I spot cleaned the carpets, did the dishes, organized the linen closet, rearranged BG’s closet, and it was only Tuesday. I still had days of confinement left.

So I turned my attention to the little brown couch. In our family, we name the furniture. We have the little brown couch, the little brown chairs, the little green chairs, the flower chair, my grandma’s desk, your grandma’s chair… Is this normal? Anyways, the little brown couch was showing its age. We’ve had it for probably 10 years; it’s microfiber, a wonder fabric; it’s supposed to look great forever. Well, it’s endured kids, spills, colds, and steady use. It was looking pretty sad.

I was browsing on Pinterest a while back and found this article on how to clean a microfiber couch from Julia at 551 East. This seemed like the perfect time to give it a go. I was shopping with BG and stocked up on Mr. Clean Magic Eraser sponges and rubbing alcohol. Julia has a whole tutorial, but basically you just spray the furniture with rubbing alcohol and then scrub the heck out of it with the sponge.

It sounded easy, but sometimes things are too good to be true. It was time to attack this ugliness.

Dirty

I think we’ve had a few too many drooly naps and stinky feet on this arm rest.

Armrest

I sprayed, I scrubbed, I sprayed, I scrubbed, and I scrubbed some more. The magic erase sponges pretty much disintegrated–good thing I bought the four-pack. But I was amazed at the results.

Take a look at the before and afters of this cushion.

Dramatic Results Collage

I do believe Cocoa and I approve of the end results.

Cocoa and the Couch

It’s a good thing we found an easy way to clean microfiber, since Cocoa discovered the painters’ lunch and dragged avocado skins all over the little brown chairs downstairs. Maybe I’ll have to pick up some more sponges.

The tutorial suggested using a scrub brush to fluff up the microfiber, I forewent that step and am still quite pleased with the finished product. Julia says that after the initial cleaning, you can just go back and spot clean now and then. Her advice definitely breathed new life into this “little brown couch”.

Have any couch cleaning tips? What do you do when you’re trapped?

5 thoughts on “Sprucing Up the Microfiber

  1. Wow, looks terrific! I’d say you spent your entrapment very well and accomplished things you would never have if you hadn’t given yourself this ‘alone time’. Good job lady!

  2. Wow! What a difference!! Don’t you just love Pinterest–how did we ever get along…

    No tips here, I’m afraid. As for when you’re trapped, I am not nearly as industrious as you. I would have probably curled up with a book or an old movie.

  3. Thanks for sharing! After spit-up and other not to be named baby messes, our microfiber no longer cleans up. I have been working on one milk stain for months. Ill have to try this!

    • Mrs. H, hope this tip helps. Families are just hard on furniture. When Sweet Miss was two, I had just finished making a slipcover. She ran out after her bath, jumped up on the chair, and peed all over it. I was horrified.

      Lori, I did listen to a book, watch a movie, catch up on some shows, and do some knitting…. The painters were here for a long time each day.

      And MK it does feel good to look at those neglected corners and give them some attention.

  4. Pingback: March Madness at the Big White House–A Recap | bigwhitehouseonthehill

Leave a Reply

