Settling In

Sometimes it takes a while to get a feel for a space. The great room concept of this place is unlike anywhere I’ve ever lived.

I was laughing to myself the other day when I remembered the designers on TV advising not to shove all your furniture against the walls. Well, we don’t have any furniture against a wall. The whole exterior of our great room is made up of floor-to-ceiling windows edged by a tile walkway.

We have space, we have the freedom to arrange furniture however we want, what’s the problem? Two things actually: electricity and a giant wired in coffee table.

While outlets line the walkway, very convenient for vacuuming, only two are placed in the middle of the room. That means options for a desktop computer are limited unless you want cords running across the floor. We’ve lived with a desk in the middle of the living room for 18 months, but yesterday we bit the bullet and moved it into its own space.

Green Couch

The area just off the master suite is around a bit of a corner and a half-wall with cabinetry and bookshelves. It’s a made to order office, and we are finally putting it to good use.

When we first moved in, it was the TV zone. And when we mounted the TV in the center area, it became an unused sitting area.

TV to sitting Collage

I do believe its new designation as an office will stick.

New desk set up

I’ve been stockpiling my projects on the counters; I guess I’ll have to tidy it up now that other people will actually be using this area. One of the best things about this new set up is that I’ll no longer be hoping for cloudy days–traitorous thoughts when you live in the northwest. Half the time, I use my phone just because I can’t see the computer screen for all the glare.

No glare

The MR also fixed it so that the internet is hardwired in, now we don’t have to rely on the wireless connection–another reason I’ve turned to my phone with grumbling and frustration.

OK, now that we’ve moved the desk out of the living room, we’re free and clear to move around the rest of the furniture, right? Oh, if only it were that easy. The coffee table that used to house the pop up projector TV is huge and weighs a ton. Moving it is a two man job. Now that school’s out, I usually have at least one extra body around here–however unwilling.

Sweet Miss was on a tear cleaning upstairs, so Baby Girl helped me move the coffee table. While it no longer houses live wires, moving it does expose metal plates and some pristine emerald carpet next to some horribly faded teal.

metal plates

I think new carpet is creeping higher on our to-do list.

So now instead of watching TV at an angle, we can sit on the comfy couch and enjoy a show head on. I like the relaxed symmetry of this arrangement.

LR from left

While we have a whole lot of furniture scattered around the center, we still can enjoy some more personal conversation areas with plenty of places to set down a glass of wine or a cup of coffee.

Chatting Collage

The fact that both the large leather ottoman and the small round one cover outlets is a great thing on one hand, but on the other it means unless I want a floor lamp in the middle of the room, I’m going to need another source of light when I want to knit while the rest of the family watches a show. This new arrangement sadly blocks off the fireplace from the rest of the room. It just doesn’t look as impressive this way.

Blocked Fireplace Collage

Oh well, you win some; you lose some. I hear it’s very European to put furniture in front of the fireplace. We still haven’t decided whether to fill in the conversation pit or to just leave it. Nobody sits down by the fire as it is now, maybe a change would be good.

I like moving the furniture around and testing arrangements out. A friend suggested two long streamlined couches spoking out from the fireplace area. That might work well and wouldn’t cut it off the way the current layout does. I guess we’ll live with this for a while and see how it works out.

That’s one of the nice things about having so many major structural issues to deal with since we’ve moved in. When you’re busy residing the house, upgrading/fixing the heating system, repairing the well, and replacing major portions of the deck, you’re not tempted to rush out and buy all new furniture that may or may not work.

Funny how a budget can keep you patient. Half the pieces in this room are gifts of the house. It would be pretty empty without the leather loveseats, chair, ottoman, and giant coffee table.

LR from back right

By the time we’re ready to replace them, Sweet Miss may be able to give them a good home.

For now, I’m going to sit back, put me feet up, and now that we’ve moved things around find a new spot to enjoy my morning coffee.

Doing any rearranging around your home? Do you like to dive right in and fix things up or live in a place for a while before you figure things out?

6 thoughts on “Settling In

  1. I am not one to move things around, maybe a little as I figure things out, but once I like it, it is set. I would say my style is a work in progress. I will wait to fill a space for just the right treasure yet to be found. I still have a few walls waiting to be completed.

  2. Wahoo! I love the desk in it’s new place.!!!! I had thought get rid of the desk and use the built-ins around the wall. However, I never thought about the glare from the windows. Oh it looks so sleek and beautiful with it’s new home, oh and very happy.
    I also like the new placement in the great room because when you think about what you like to do best, i.e., look out the windows and also watch TV, you rarely use the fireplace. Furniture can always be moved when you need to be cozy during the winter. I feel you did a great job with all the furniture you have now. It was always so fun to come to your home and find furniture in different places and even different rooms. Your had purchased your furniture especially for your last home, and it was perfect. Now you have that furniture plus the ‘gifts’ to work with. Like our great room, bigger and less seemed to work for us. So exciting to see all the changes, can’t wait……………new colors, new arrangements, new decorations, new gardens etc.

  3. Pingback: June In Review | bigwhitehouseonthehill

  4. Pingback: Cutting a Rug | bigwhitehouseonthehill

Leave a Reply

