Time to Make a Change: The Story of an Icebox

When we were just getting started, me and the MR inherited a lot of hand-me-downs in the way of furniture. We had the funky sectional with a wild, squiggly print, our childhood dressers, and an incredibly ugly dining set. One piece that we both loved and everyone complimented was the antique icebox the MR’s parents generously gave us.

This was the early 90’s when smaller but wider TVs were in vogue. We housed the TV up top, and all the equipment down below.

Misha & Icebox07182013_0000

Time went by, our budget got bigger, and so did our television.

SM & Icebox07182013_0000

Then we moved to a new house, entered the 21st century–the age of the flat screen. Our lovely icebox, had to take on a new role. It held toys, it held the boom box, it held player piano rolls, and it served as a lovely focal point as you entered the front door.

SM Zucchini & Icebox

Now, you have to use your imagination and delete the crazy girl holding 50 pounds of zucchini that she grew for the local food bank, but it really is a lovely piece.

On a side note, I’ve spent hours going through old photos trying to find a nice picture of our icebox, but it’s always played this background role solidly anchoring a space and offering a place for decoration. I also recently had a discussion about how I try to use only photos that flatter my girls for the blog. I guess the key word is “try”.  Here’s another go Sweet Miss; it is a nice piece of furniture.

SM & Icebox

Now that we’ve taken this walk down memory lane, flash forward a few years until we move into the big white house. A large, oak, antique icebox does not match the style of this home in any way, shape, or form. But I can’t help but reminisce back to the time when it was one of the few lovely pieces in our home. Besides being huge, it also weighs a ton, so our friends brought it in and were thankful when I told them to just leave it in the entry for now.

Well, for now lasted over a year and a half where it housed the printer and the driveway alarm and covered half of a painting. Once again you’ll have to use your imagination and visualize. You can see just the corner of it in this photo of the entry.

Should I get rid of the benches? Should I get rid of the slippers? Replace one with a console table?

Since we’ve made a dedicated space for the office, it makes sense to bring the printer into that area rather than leave it around the corner next to the front door. Our silly icebox, was once again without a purpose.

While we’ve pretty much ignored the entry for the last 18 months, it’s supposed to be welcoming and set the tone for the whole house. Nothing says warm and welcoming like a giant icebox squeezed between the shoe bench and the powder room. It was time to make a change.

So this week, I put one of our house guests to work asking Papa Larry to move the icebox to the guest room. Where I’ve used slides and a blanket in the past, he pulled out a hand truck and went to work with the help of Sweet Miss. They managed all five corners and brought it to its new home with ease. (I hope Papa’s back doesn’t hurt.)

And now our icebox will begin its new life in the guest room as a holder of extra bedding.

002

We pulled down all the pictures when we had the house painted awhile back, and I’ve been waiting for this to happen, so I could put them back up. This has also motivated me to rethink the benches and the whole look of the entry. It’s just like a domino; change breeds change.

Now that we can see our painting again, I think it’s time to take on the benches in the entry.

004

I’ve been looking at fabric swatches all morning. It’s a fairly empty space that people walk through quickly on their way to the great room. Here’s a few options I came up with from Fabric.com.

Fabric Collage

I’d love to hear which fabric tickles your fancy. I’ll share the results in the recap later this month.

Is your entry warm and welcoming? What are people greeted with when they come to your door?

5 thoughts on “Time to Make a Change: The Story of an Icebox

  1. I don’t know about warm and welcoming, but it’s not bad. Our entry opens directly into our living room. We have an antique treadle sewing cabinet as you walk in that too often becomes a catch all, but when I can keep it cleared off it has a few old family photos, a nice little clock DH received after being with a company for a length of time. I used to have a mirror that I loved hanging as you entered, but alas it got knocked off the wall and broke. I am still searching for a replacement I love.

  2. Your blog made me cry with my own memories of the ‘ice box’. We first used it for our linen closed, then it housed all our underwear, then our TV and who knows what it was between it’s first use, an ‘ice box’. We bought it at a garage sale when your Mr was is grade school. His sister has another one we found in an old garage, and it had crank case oil spilled all over it. As she lives in Dallas, TX, on the truly hot, moist days you are still able to smell the faint odor of the oil. It is in her husband’s office filled with his “important papers”, and his athletic trophies.
    When we bought the one you had, the previous owner had tried to strip off the dark laquor people covered all their furniture in, and I went about finishing the job with denatured alcohol and steel wool. It is still beautiful to this day.
    I love all the fabric you have chosen for the seats in the entry. The one I like best, is #3 as it brings the color of the trees in from the outside. However, there could be another place for a ‘pop’ of color with something in a coppery/green-ish/beige-ish……………….

  3. Pingback: A Look Back at July | bigwhitehouseonthehill

  4. Pingback: The Little Bench Gets a Face Lift | bigwhitehouseonthehill

Leave a Reply

