Second Chances

Do you have anything hanging in your closet that never sees the light of day? Around here we have plenty.

A few years back Baby Girl saw this lacy, openwork, crocheted tunic in a magazine and asked me if I could make it. Well, that was an exciting day. You see, I can make lots of things but most times my girls have no interest in wearing something Mom made. So I had her look at patterns, we discussed styles and colors, and finally I decided to create my own modification of a few designs. I finished it up, it was beautiful, her friends were amazed, and her lovely sweater hung in the closet for the next two years.

I was disappointed; she said it didn’t fit right. Well, everyone deserves a second chance, even a silly, old sweater. So last winter, I took out all those stitches and started anew. And lo and behold, this time I came up with a winner.

BG & SW

Baby Girl wearing her new “Mom” made sweater with Sweet Miss on vacation in Chelan.

She’s worn it more than once, and I feel vindicated. All that trouble was worth the effort.

Unfortunately, I have a few clunkers hanging in my closet. This tunic for instance has some lovely detail, it matches my coloring perfectly, and I loved the artsy vibe.

Top 2

With all that going for it, it looked truly horrendous on me. Even if you’re in a hurry, it’s a good idea to try something on before you buy it. So I parked it in my closet and admired the embroidery and pleating from time to time.

Top Detail

Maybe all that fancywork would look better on a pillow than it did on me? It was a great idea, and I’ve been stalled there for months. Did I make a tiny pillow because my shirt really wasn’t that wide? Did I make something lovely and symmetrical with lots of ruffles? I’m not a ruffly girl. Hmm, I decided a little free-form was my best bet.

I had an old pillow that measured 12 x 16-inches in need of recovering. So I cut out my center motif and added a plain piece of fabric to the bottom. I figured a couple of ruffles would add interest, sewed two rectangles together on three-and-a-half sides, stuffed in the old pillow, and sewed up the side by hand.

Before you know it, I had a decorative pillow that adds interest to the guest bed.

Guest Bed Collage

This pillow looks better on the bed than it ever did on me, and I still get to enjoy all the pretty detail.

Have you ever bought something that looked great on the hanger and just horrible on you? Made anything wonderful from clothes you rescued from the Goodwill bag?

3 thoughts on “Second Chances

  1. Why yes, I too have purchased things and then never worn them. I am so fortunate to also have a sister who gives me her ‘hand-me-downs’. So I get to try them on when we get together, and make my selection in the privacy of her home. Works our great!
    I truly like the new pillow in the guest room and look forward to seeing it when we come up for a visit..

  2. Pingback: October: Remodeling, Gardening, Sewing, Decorating & Organizing | bigwhitehouseonthehill

Leave a Reply

