Mirror, Mirror on the Wall

Who’s the fairest of them all? Well, you are of course.

Sorry, I’m not talking to you or to the MR or even to my sweet girls who are all quite handsome and beautiful in their own rights, as are you. I’m talking to the lovely new mirror for the powder room that arrived this week.

new mirror far back 2

Now as you approach, you no longer see a gorgeous sink in a strangely empty, hexagon-shaped alcove–which is strange enough in and of itself. We now have a mirror. I hadn’t realized how bare and undone the space would feel without one. Think about it; do you have a bathroom sink that’s not paired with a mirror in your home? It just doesn’t feel right.

new mirror 2

So a few weeks ago when I was looking through the One Kings Lane ad–online browsing is a weakness of mine–I was oh so excited to find a lovely mirror that was sleek, and contemporary, and less than 20 inches wide. The width was a sticking point for many other likely candidates. The back of the alcove measures in at 20.5 inches, so in order for a mirror to fit over the sink easily it needed to be less than that.

The fun textured frame reads quite gold in the taupe bathroom, but it’s actually more of a silver.

Mirror framing art 2

Now I just need bring a little art into the space to liven up the walls. Perhaps another shopping trip is in order. I do believe the powder room is growing up.

Sink Progression Collage

The blue walls and all the mirrors were brighter, but does a bathroom really need to be so shiny? I like a bit more of a subdued look. I’m also a sucker for a beautiful sunrise and misty fog hanging over the valley.

valley 4

Making any changes? Hanging any mirrors? Do you go for shiny or subdued?

8 thoughts on “Mirror, Mirror on the Wall

  1. I can’t remember if I told you already, but we have tile in the entry way!!!! So happy. And it only took 5 years, lol. Not only that, but he put on a new rubber thing on the door to keep the cold air out. It was all very exiting!

    I am loving the new bathroom, it looks some sharp! I was just thinking I need to add one more piece of art to our powder room. There is a blank wall above the towel rack begging for something pretty. I am going to have to get on that.

  2. Your mirror looks gorgeous! It’s the icing on the cake over that heavenly shaped sink. Really enjoying watching your renovations unfold. I’m about to tackle an office/workshop. There will definitely be a few mirrors, but subdued all the way for me!

    • Thanks! I’m so glad you like it. Good luck on the workshop redo. I’ve been letting the sewing room slide lately and know how hard it is to be creative when surrounded by stuff.

      Thanks for the subdued vote. 🙂

  3. Am with the blogger now, and have told her how lovely the mirror is, and that maybe she could hang some of her own framed photos in there for decor.

  4. Pingback: January In Review | bigwhitehouseonthehill

  5. Pingback: Bathrooms, Floors & Bounty in 2014 | big white house on the hill

Leave a Reply

