Why Bother?

Chatting with friends recently, one mentioned how much she enjoyed my blog and asked the other if she had read it. No, I don’t have time for that was her response…

Did I burst into to tears? Cry myself to sleep? Vow never to speak to her again? In all honesty, blogs aren’t for everyone. But holy cow, what a great way to meet people across the world and share a little bit of life.

Have you noticed how amazingly talented people really are? I love the creativity and the willingness to share ideas and thoughts. Here are just a few of the great ideas I’ve stolen/borrowed over the last few weeks.

Wouldn’t you love to be a painter? On our last visit to Paris, we viewed Monet’s Water Lilies–I want to be him. OK, so maybe I don’t want to be French, or to be losing my sight, or to live a hundred years ago, but I would like to be more artistic. Sometimes you just have to fake if you don’t have real talent, and KariAnne at Thistlewood Farms let me (and all her readers) in on a secret. All you need is an Iphone (or Ipad) and the Waterlogue App. That’s how I wound up with this lovely picture of our home. I’m hankering for spring and all those beautiful foxgloves.

Painted in Waterlogue

I stumbled upon Thistlewood Farms blog recently, and she’s shared a ton of great ideas. That’s how I wound up with this Valentine for Sweet Miss.

Sweet Miss 2

KariAnne introduced me to Kris at Driven by Decor who had written an informative tutorial on how to use Tagxedo to make signs in a variety of shapes with the words of your choice. Don’t like the way it turned out the first time around? Then you can shuffle it all up.

Sweet Miss

It was fun to send a personalized Valentine just for our girl. This would also make a great birthday card; you could describe the birthday boy or girl perfectly.

I enjoy trying new things and learning from others, and people are out there scouring the web and the world for great ideas. I’m just glad they’re willing to share.

Now I have a tutorial from my friend Teddy & Tottie on Bavarian crochet that I’ve been wanting to check out. I mentioned something she’d said at dinner last night, and my family was confused as to just who this person was. Well, no I haven’t met her, and yes, she lives on the other side of the world, but through the internet we’re still blogging buddies.

Learned anything new lately? What great idea do you want to share? I’m all ears.

6 thoughts on “Why Bother?

  1. Well you have inspired me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I do hope you print out, or paint up that lovely picture of your home and hang it right up there with the Nelo’s paintings, it is so beautiful. I want to go to both blogs and see what I can do. Thank you so much for introducing others to your new friends.

  2. If you are up to it keep the blog coming We  Carol &Fred enjoy it. Having lived and worked in the area for three years it is almost like a letter from home, keep up the good work, it doesn’t have to be headline  news just communication from you.

    • So glad you enjoy the blog. I’ve reconnected with old friends and been able to keep family posted on all the doings. Perhaps the title was a bit harsher than I meant. Reading blogs isn’t for everyone, but I enjoy both sides of the process. Love you guys.

      • I took the title “Why Bother?”, to be more of an explanation of your reason for writing it, not that you were put off by what others said. Good reason, and I too enjoy the blog. Went further into your Facebook, and saw that you had done another water ‘thingy’ to you and your MR’s photograph. Very cleaver, and I too want to do that. Theo

  3. Pingback: March in Review | bigwhitehouseonthehill

Leave a Reply

