Blossoms and Bluster

We’ve had wind and rain interspersed with glimpses of sunshine for the last few weeks, so I wasn’t sure the seeds we planted in the garden would have done anything.

I put out Sluggo last week and transplanted some broccoli seedlings, but nothing was going on in the beds. Thankfully another week made a big difference. The seeds are starting to come up and the onions and broccoli are settling in.

Broccoli 2

If you take a closer look, you can see the spinach and the beets just starting off.

Spinach & Beets

I was a little disappointed that I didn’t see any progress with the peas, carrots, or potatoes. We’re expecting some sunny and warm weather this week, so I’m hoping that’ll give them a boost. While I was checking on the peas, I did notice this lovely asparagus that I started last year. I know I’m supposed to wait, but it looks mighty tempting.

Asparagus 2

 

It was a pretty afternoon yesterday, until the dark clouds blew in. While I was checking on my garden, I couldn’t help but wander over to the orchard. The apple blossoms show fluffy and white against the sky.

Blossoms & Sky

They are certainly a promise of the harvest to come.

Beautiful Blossoms

Even now, the currants are heavy with fruit just waiting to ripen, the grape vines are starting to twine, and the blueberries are covered in blossoms.

Currants

Ah the joys of spring gladden my heart; they make me long to write poetry and watch clouds float by in a clear blue sky.

Is the world around you waking after the long winter? Are you in the poetic gardening mood?

 

3 thoughts on “Blossoms and Bluster

  1. Yes, and yes. As I said last week, all the cacti have, or have had, or are going to have blooms. The lily’s are blooming, my tomato plants are growing and have 3 tomato already that are about 1 1/2 inch across!! Today I bought a basil plant and put in the darling pot that you gave me for Christmas a few years ago and tonight we will have SPRING for dinner., as we will have just the top leaves on our salad, fresh corn on the cob, and a Costco boneless rib eye with both the corn and the steak done on the bar-b-q. There, I guess that was sort of poetic! I predict you will have a bumper crop of everything this summer.

  2. Pingback: April In Review | big white house on the hill

Leave a Reply

