Taking a Look Back at June

June means school’s out, the garden is in, everyone’s home, and we’re spending a lot of time outdoors.

The MR spent many hours at the beginning of the month up high Painting the Town, I Mean the Roof. Torch down roofs require maintenance now and then to keep them in good shape, and he’s gone through over 10 five-gallon buckets of coating but hasn’t quite finished the job. The MR says that he needs maybe one, or two, or three buckets more; let’s just say it’s a big roof. We can always use the leftovers to make a tin man costume.

Molten Metal

Next, we turned to a place most people will notice–the front porch where we make that First Impression. After I got all busy with new pots and plants, I was motivated to add even more stuff. Some lime green, metal hurricanes Sweet Miss bought last year add a touch of color, and I went ahead and bought a 10-foot runner in gray to cover some stains and add some softness. The rug looks awesome so far–no major muddy dog fiasco.

Front porch with rain

It’s a misty, moisty morning here with the valley lost in the fog. By happy accident, the flash was on, and I was able to catch the droplets in this photo of the front porch. The hose is out, because the MR and his dad are busy with another project. Just wait and see.

A few weeks later, the MR came home with a truckload of flowers and plants–Gotta Love a Man with Flowers.

Front Door Planters

At the moment, we also have a very large Bell sitting on the front porch. This is not its permanent home. We’ve been looking at all sorts of interesting ways to hang it. My brother’s worried that it’ll look like some sort of torture devise, but we’re trying to steer clear of that.

I was pleasantly surprised to see these lovely bells at the local Art In Bloom show.

Bell Stand Collage

If you’re local and you’ve never been, put it on your calendar for next year. The opening night cocktail party comes at a price, but the rest of the weekend is free. So take some time to stroll through the lovely Kokopelli Gardens, support local artists, and the Duvall Arts Foundation.

We’ve also been working on the flowers adjacent to the deck and driveway. The bundles I made in Daffodil Detail are turning brown and the lilies are looking great–we have a lot less slug damage with the leaves bound. Sadly, the dahlias and delphiniums from last year did not reappear.

Lilies up close and personal

While the Fresh Spring Spinach Salads are a thing of the past (all our spinach has bolted with the warm weather), we’ve been enjoy a bumper crop of broccoli. I wound up bringing bags of it to friends at church this morning. Good thing we have a great broccoli salad recipe that’s one of my family’s favorites. It’s All About the Dirt.

Broccoli Collage

I made Baby Girl pose with the broccoli, so you could see just how big it is. We’re harvesting the side shoots now, and they’re a little scraggly but still quite tasty. If some crazy lady shows up with a basket of broccoli on her arm, don’t worry, I’m harmless.

Along with broccoli, we’ve been picking currants and the onions I planted to keep the animals away have gotten huge. I thought they were just green onions. Oh well, I may be making the rounds with a basket of them next.

onion

My beans, cucumbers, pumpkin, and squash are all being eaten by slugs or bunnies or birds, so I’m celebrating the victories. In Mixing It Up, I told you we were putting our hopes in more plums next year on a skinny little stick of a tree. While the asparagus roots have yet to show any growth, the Santa Rosa weeping plum has started leafing out.

View framed by new growth

You know and I know I was taking a picture of the new foliage, but my camera thought I was taking a picture of the valley. You get what I’m talking about, and we’ll just say I was trying to be artsy with a little rack focus going on.

I have faith that we’ll have more than two plums next year. I’m watching the Shiro plum tree to make sure we don’t lose the lonely pair we do have to the birds or beasts.

After all the other projects our Handyman (aka Papa Larry) has been busy looking for a guy to do baseboards, hanging hooks in the guest bath, taking the leaf blower to the driveway, painting planters, and other messy, fun jobs, most people would never ask their guest to do.

We did manage to find time on a rainy Saturday to go wine tasting in Woodinville. It’s not all work and no play around here. We’re doing our best to show MeeMee and Papa a good time.

MeeMee & Papa

Finally, I have been practicing my technique and not letting my Perfectionism Hold Me Back. After removing all the adhesive from the stencil, I’m taking it slow to avoid smudges and using a lot less paint. Sometimes it helps to read the tutorial. I hope by the end of the week, the painting will be done, and the books will be back in place.

Here’s a sneak peek at how it’s going.

closeup of stenciled area

Still not perfect, but so much better.

What’s been going on with your June?

One thought on “Taking a Look Back at June

  1. The picture of Papa and me at the winery, does NOT do me justice…………..I usually look much crazier.

Leave a Reply

