Garden Art in Bloom

Remember last year when I added some structure to the garden with a fanciful metal flower?

Well, our local art council was hosting its annual Art In Bloom weekend at the beautiful Kokopelli gardens, so of course we had to stop by and take a look around. You can find some amazing things at these little art shows that pop up all summer long across the country.

I loved the way so many of the artists used recycled materials in their works. Isn’t this tower made from old household items interesting?

Garden Art Tower

I thought this birdhouse out of reclaimed materials was oh-fun.

Bird House

Maybe we should never throw anything out. Just think of all the things you can make out of weird junk.Starfish

I loved this metal and glass art spinner. Alas, I don’t think it was for sale, and I don’t have an unlimited budget.

Glass Tower Spinners

Take a look at this reproduction of Seattle’s iconic Space Needle and the beautiful Mount Rainier in fused glass.

Window 2

I was totally intrigued by these copper and glass sculptures–so fun, so bright, so cheery.

Sprinklers 2I couldn’t figure out why they had a hose hook up at the bottom, until I saw this poster.Sprinkler Poster

Isn’t this the most gorgeous sprinkler ever? I might be tempted to run through it a few times. If you have to have one for yourself, check out Hoppy’ s Garden Art for all sorts of lovely options.

I’m not encouraging any animals in my garden, but these toad homes are quite cute.

Toad Homes

I know you’re worried that I might have gone home without anything, but my metal flower was feeling a bit lonely. So I went ahead and bought him a few friends for company.

New BloomsBogart gives them his nod of approval, or he just wanted to make sure he was in the photo. Looks like I have some weeding to do and a dead vine to pull out.

New Blooms & Little Buddy

So now when the birds, bunnies, slugs, and deer go to town eating my flowers, I’ll still have a few that they won’t dare to tackle; I’m tricky that way.

What’s decorating your garden? Do you love local art and craft fairs?

 

 

3 thoughts on “Garden Art in Bloom

  1. So glad I was with you when you visited the Art in the Garden. Every single item was priceless, and beautiful.!

  2. Pingback: A Look Back at July ’14 | big white house on the hill

Leave a Reply

