A Chip Off the Old Block

When I had two little girls, I was sure at least one of them would grow up to be like me. They’d love to knit and crochet, we’d cook together and sew amazing outfits. They’d watch sappy, old movies with me, and tell me secrets as we worked in the garden.

Aww, but children have their own ideas. My girls have grown up strong and confident. They’re in to sports, and friends, and work, and parties. They haven’t discovered the joys of yarn or growing broccoli.

Last spring, I had a spark of hope. Sweet Miss told me this was going to be a majorly crafting kind of summer. She’s a room head in her sorority and is putting together a fabulous, retro-Hawaiian look for her space. And she has to make a scrapbook for her “Big”. It all sounded so promising. Have I mentioned how take-charge and independent she is? The silly girl has done it all on her own.

On a Sunday a few weeks back, when I was busy with my own to-do list, Sweet Miss informed me that she wanted to make a jewelry holder like mine. Wait honey; this requires preparation, sleepless nights, shopping trips, and lots of angst–at least that’s how it went the first time around. Nope, she was ready to do it right now.

OK, sometimes you just have to wing it. I sent SM to the sewing room where she picked out a frame with a solid back. I had ordered some drawer pulls online that turned out too big for my jewelry box revamp, so I handed them over. SM used a ruler to evenly space the pulls around the frame and marked the spots with a pencil.

Then it was off to the garage to use the handy-dandy drill.

SM Using the Drill

Don’t you love how she just gets busy in her fabulous maxi dress rather than changing into work clothes? What would your mother say?

The screws that came with the drawer pulls were too long for her project, so SM went through her father’s supplies and found some old, short, rusty ones that fit the bill perfectly.

Next, she checked out my fabric stash and chose a bright geometric print. Then it was as simple as cutting the fabric to the exact size of the backing, applying a little spray-mount adhesive to that backing, and then gluing down the fabric. If you’re trying to line up a print, you can always leave a little extra for wiggle room and then cut to size once it’s in place.

After that, SM used pointed snips to make a hole in the fabric and then added the drawer pulls. It’s important to make that hole first, otherwise when you start twisting the screw, you’ll also start twisting the fabric possibly causing puckering and distortion–this may drive your mother crazy.

So with a minimum of fuss, Sweet Miss wound up with her own jewelry holder.

Necklace holder

 

I was surprised later that afternoon when I came up to see how the project had all turned out. Did you see the other ones I made she asked me. Hmm, maybe this kid is a chip off the old block.

She had a couple small frames sitting around with cardboard backs. So with a smaller drill bit and opting not to use the fabric, she created two holders for her earrings.

Necklace and Earring holders

 

Nice job honey! They look great. Your mother needs to be a little more like you and not worry about planning how to make it perfect, and just do it.

I’m looking forward to sharing your Hawaiian room redo next month. I know it’s going to be great.

What have you been crafting lately? 

 

 

3 thoughts on “A Chip Off the Old Block

  1. She is just like you, her project turned out perfect, just like yours!!!! Nice job “Mom”, Nice job SM. My ‘project’ was showing jewelry I made, and the copper decor’ Papa made, in 5 art shows back to back in Whitefish, MT, Anaconda, MT Twin Falls, ID, Richland, WA and Coeur d’ Alene, ID. Hope safe, but happy and proud of our success!! MeeMee and Papa Wish I’d taken a picture of the gong in it’s place in your yard so I could show it to Pat, the man who made it in Branson. :o(

  2. Pingback: Taking a Look at August | big white house on the hill

Leave a Reply

