Not Any Other Way

Sweet Miss and her fellow were home for the weekend. She was busy telling us about her plans for the summer; she’s going to rent a house with a bunch of sorority sisters, take a few classes, and get a part-time job. Her fellow is on the short list for some very promising internships–these kids are growing up.

Yesterday, they drove back to Oregon, and we headed off to the Museum of Flight. Sure my dad worked at Boeing for 30 years–this had nothing to do with that. Baby Girl has been accepted at the University of Oregon, and they invited us to a reception there. Apparently Ducks soar; U of O is totally into puns.

Our baby is growing up, too. But, you know, I wouldn’t have it any other way. You get married, have children, they grow up, move on, and it all starts over again. It kinda makes me sad, squeezes my heart a little, makes me wonder about the future, and that’s just the way it’s supposed to be.

Back in January, I spent the day at my dad’s house helping him sort through things in the basement. Then on the way home, I stopped at the home of one of Sweet Miss’ classmates. Me and the mom got to talking; she had found a piece of art one of my girls had made that had been outside for years. Did I want it back?

I couldn’t imagine what she was talking about, but of course I said yes. And so I came home with this sign that Baby Girl made once upon a time.Cocoa & the signHey Cocoa, you need to move. The rest of want a look, too. Don’t you love the weather-beaten texture it’s taken on?

So Rough

It looks like it’s made it through all of life’s storms. Want a closer look so you can read what it says?

Sign Up Close

The sign says it perfectly.

I wouldn’t have it any other way.

My kids are growing up, time is marching on, and I wouldn’t have it any other way…except for maybe adding a plant for a little softness, and going over the writing on the sign to make it a little more legible, and then spraying the whole thing with clear coat so it stays that way forever.

Daphne & Sign Up Close

OK, so all I did was add a plant–a very beautiful, sweet-scented, variegated daphne that had people stopping me as I walked to the door–but there’s time for the rest.

How are you handling life’s changes?

 

3 thoughts on “Not Any Other Way

  1. Your on the right track and I wouldn’t change it either– Been there done that. just waiting for the sequel  !

  2. Pingback: March–Taking It All In | big white house on the hill

Leave a Reply

