The Wall

Me and the MR were out on the deck watching clouds when a hummingbird whirred by. He told me it was time to put out my hummingbird feeder, and I readily agreed.

As I drove home from running errands the next day, I started thinking of what I needed to do. I had to find the shepherd’s crook and feeder and whip up some syrup. About that time, I rounded the corner of the driveway and decided that could all wait.

Our front yard is a bit of a mess at the moment.

Mounds of Dirt 2

 

It’s been months since I updated you on the wall project. I had hoped it’d be finished by now, but it’s a friend of ours doing the work, and we told him that we weren’t in a hurry–just have it done by June. Sometimes it’s hard to be nice.

He has made some great progress. The steps are in.

Steps

And the wall is coming along.

Yes, I am up at the crack of dawn to take pictures for you guys--be thankful.

Yes, I am up at the crack of dawn to take pictures for you guys–be thankful.

So for now, with the front yard a mess, and the driveway strip a mess, I’ve limited my gardening to vegetables.

Side Yard

 

Well, I do have a few pots, and Baby Girl did come home with some lovely cosmos and vibrant lobelia–I guess a few flowers wouldn’t hurt.

Flowers 3

 

Any big landscaping projects happening at your house?

 

4 thoughts on “The Wall

  1. Ooohwhee! The wall and the steps are marvelous!! (new word for me). I am sure the Papas, Willy and Larry, as well as myself, hope there is a railing (like in galvanized pipe) going down to the garden and tennis court. I haven’t been down there in a while as it is just too steep for ‘we senior citizens’, and I miss seeing it. Papa Larry has given up feeding the birds in the wide open feeders (actually gold panning pans) and gone to tubular bird feeders, for the little birds, who are really messy and then the larger birds fly in and feed on the leftovers,on the ground! Works out for every bird. Any way, they all love the little seeds and the huge fountain being on and it is now like a ‘bird spa’ out out back. They eat, poop elsewhere, and bathe in the fountain. The big birds no longer have to feel territorial against the little birds and underneath the patio roof is sometimes like a freeway of birds!! We even have a little rabbit in the last couple of days coming by to see our animal spa! He spent the night, so we might have a permanent home for him. Loving it.!!!!!

    • Sounds quite busy in your backyard. I’m sorry we don’t have a railing, but we can offer a strong shoulder to help you keep your balance. I’m hoping it’s all together by the time you arrive in June. Your birds will miss their free dinner when you’re here.

  2. Pingback: May in Limbo | big white house on the hill

  3. Pingback: Making a Statement | big white house on the hill

Leave a Reply

