July Harvest

I had friends over the other day. Wow, you have tomatoes already, one commented as she was looking around.

Our little cherry tomatoes on the deck have been producing for about a month. We don’t have tons of them. I’m not sure if it’s still early, or if I’ve been stingy with the fertilizer. We also have the added bonus of having the plants wrapped in dark netting to keep the dogs from digging up the worm castings and fertlizer and littering the deck with dirt.

We’re eating a handful of tomatoes every few nights—it’s all good.

Besides tomatoes, we’ve been enjoying an amazing crop of blueberries and currants.

Currant bush

All that netting the MR put up surrounding the berry bushes and grape vines has certainly made a difference. I made blueberry muffins and currant cakes for my friends’ visit.

Me and Baby Girl have also been enjoying blueberries in our morning yogurt, and the MR has developed a taste for currant popsicles with raspberry puree.  Two of the ladies who stopped by mentioned having currants in their yards, and wondering what to do with them.

I made some ruby red raspberry currant jelly last week. It’s a beautiful color. I was being smart and using the juicer attachment for the KitchenAid mixer that the MR bought me for Christmas. Now, raspberries and currants have a lot of seeds, so when the waste output started looking kind of loose, I decided to run the waste through a second time.

That was not my best decision. The mixer made a funny sound, and before I could turn it off, exploded in beautiful red all over my white cabinets.

mess

Well, it wasn’t actually an explosion, the attachment just blew off the end and red juice flew everywhere. I think I’ll learn to live with a little wasted juice, or perhaps clean out the attachment between runs.

Friends had leftover smoked salmon from their Fourth of July celebration, I offered some of our bounty in return. They took some cucumbers, but before the week was out, I had four more giant cucumbers, one huge and two small zucchinis, and one forelorn plum.

zuch cucs plum

 

 

 

The little guys were a perfect substition for mushrooms in a tasty smoked salmon fettucine. The other night, me and the MR enjoyed Corsican pie with zucchini blossoms (a recipe from one of my new cookbooks). It was fabulous to look at as well as to eat.

corsican pie

Cucumber and avocado salad are slated for the menu tonight; perhaps it’s also time for some zucchini bread. Baby Girl has a thing for that; I guess I’ll be looking for a gluten-free recipe.

After one lonely plum last week, I was excited to pick these pretty yellow ones a few days ago. The birds had started sampling them, but we wound up with just over a pound. Last year, we harvested one and a half plums, not pounds (sharing with the birds again), so I’m happy with our huge upswing in production.

yellow plums 2

These little gems are pretty and tasty, too.

The warm weather has been a boon to the berry harvest and the ripening of the fruit trees early, but it’s been too much for the lettuce. All of the plants have bolted, so I cut them back. In a few weeks, I should have more greens for summer salads.

While I was down in the garden, I noticed something had been breaking the bean plants. That seemed odd. Then I checked on the zucchini plant in the raised bed. Something’s definitely been chewing on this squash.

teeth marks 2

I thought this was an “8-ball” zucchini plant. It looks more like a torpedo.

Those look like teeth marks to me. We saw a raccoon run across the fairway while golfing the other day, maybe we’ve had a visitor in the garden. Whatever it is, it’s been chewing on the carrot tops and pulled up my sole beet plant.

Mowed down carrots

Oh the joys of gardening. It’s one step forward and two steps back. We’re lucky to have two farmers markets, farm stands, and local u-picks all within a few miles.

If things don’t turn around, I’ll just have to buy my beets this year.

How’s you’re garden growing? What are you making with the summer bounty?

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “July Harvest

  1. The 2 recipes you showed from your new cookbook look wonderful! It is great that your MR likes them as well. How great to see that his taste has expanded to new adventures every day with you from only eating hamburger, mashed potatoes and peas!

  2. Pingback: Windows, Pests, Moving, Water, Cooking, Knitting, We Covered It All in July | big white house on the hill

Leave a Reply

