October Changes

This has been a month of adjustments. It hasn’t simply been a change of season or cooler weather; our lives are changing.

We dropped Baby Girl off at college, and suddenly our schedules are wide open.  After 21 years with kids at home, we’ve entered A New Phase in life. The first thing me and the MR have decided is to travel a lot more. While it’s always been something we’ve liked, now we’re planning adventures on a regular basis. We want to be able to explore the world while we’re still young and healthy enough to enjoy it.

At the waterfall

So this month we experienced The Beauty of Iceland with it’s geysers, waterfalls, and hot springs. Book a massage at the Blue Lagoon if you ever get a chance; it’s a surreal experience.

Our Next Stop was London with its funky mixture of old and new.  My advice is to wear comfy shoes, bring a raincoat, and buy a pass for the tubes.

Fusion of Architecture

We ended our trip in Beautiful Barcelona with its amazing architecture and masses of shoppers.  Our visit to Sigrada Familia, Awash in Color, left me astonished. It was just so beautiful.  I loved the play of light, the whimsy of the nativity entrance, and the starkness of the passion side. Gaudi’s goal was to tell the story of Jesus through this cathedral, and he’s done an amazing job. This is a must-see destination for our architecture student.  Perhaps we’ll be back for its planned completion in 2026—100 years after the famous architect’s death.

SG Colorwash Warm

Just above the trees next to my head, you can see the whimsical fruit decorating the lower towers. Those are the fruit we passed on our journey down from the Passion Tower. Let’s just say, we were way the heck up there.  The English tour of the cathedral, plus the visit to the adjacent museum and the Passion Tower were well worth the price.

Tower Fruit Collage

You may have noticed while we were gone, I kept posting as if we were home. Well, we don’t want anyone bothering the housesitter. Sorry to mislead you, but we were erring on the safe side.

Looking back at My Love-Hate Relationship with Pinterest, I have made a lot of recipes and been inspired by all those ideas. Then again, lot of projects have been merrily pinned and then forgotten.  I was frustrated when I read one of the leaf projects I’d saved and thought would look great on the china hutch. They used fake leaves from the dollar store. Don’t they know my yard and driveway are covered?

The inspiration for All That Goodness was found on Pinterest, so I guess it is useful. My salad at least was tasty.  I’ve been drying cuttings from outside to add to my herb collection.  I attended a class last spring, and the speaker said dried herbs from your yard have much more flavor than those from the store.

Drying Rack Herbs

With a view like that, they have to taste great.  Blue skies mixed with torrential rains and flooding. It must be fall.

I’ve been contentedly watching sunrises and sunsets again. In the summer, I’m not up at 4:30 when the sun rises, and we miss the sun as it sets behind a stand of trees. Now the sky is a showstopper once more.  I love when the sun peaks through stormy skies like in The Color of the Season flooding the trees with golden light.

Speaking of color, I added a few lumpy, bumpy gourds to the china hutch to Dress It Up for Fall.  Now that Halloween is over, I’ll put away a few trinkets but keep the punches of orange and cream.

China Hutch Gourds

I need to remember to clear out my junk when taking photos.  So yes, as you can see, we have more little Christmas trees in the works, and I was going through old photos. Mine is not a perfect house, but aren’t those gourds cool?

Baby Girl’s first quarter of college is going well. She’s in the process of applying for the School of Architecture, and we’re so proud of her.  She was disappointed when others didn’t put as much effort into their Homework Musings, but I love her rendition of the fireplace—the center of our home.

BGs Sketch

Sad Goodbyes focused on the recent passing of my sister-in-law’s mom.  My mom would have celebrated her 72nd birthday this month. She’s been gone for 10 years now, and I was thinking the other day how many things she’s missed. She’s missed proms and graduations, weddings and the birth of her first great-granchild. She never went to a volleyball game and didn’t get to see my kids grow from round-cheeked. little girls into beautiful young women. She would have been bossy, and nosy, and overpowering, and wonderful.  She loved them and loved being part of their lives.

So take care of yourself and take time for those you love. You just never know what tomorrow brings.

Now that I’m all teary, let’s change the subject to something more mundane; let’s talk worms.  I killed mine again, but I’ve called in Reinforcements.  We have 2,000 red wigglers doing their job out in the worm bin.

My sweet mother-in-law also put me in contact with the only other person she knows who keeps worms, and I received some very good advice.  Fruit flies can be a nuisance, so we had put up fly strips and moved the bin out by the edge of the garage.  The heat fluctuation could be causing problems.

The expert suggested not putting fruit scraps in the bin and composting them outside instead.  Unfortunately, I don’t want to attract other wildlife to our house, but I am going to have to do some rearranging to try and keep my new friends alive and eating my food scraps.

That about does it for October. I’m sure we’ll have new adventures to share this month. The MR replaced the light in the coat closet and says he feels like he needs some inside projects now that the rains have started.  I’ll keep you posted.

How was your October?

One thought on “October Changes

  1. Love it when you rehash the previous month. Our’s was wonder-fun! and November is looking ever fun-ner!! I am thinking that it is time to let others take your ‘selfies’, or get one of those long things to put your camera on to take your own selfies. Just a suggestion. Your M.I.L. MeeMee

Leave a Reply

