Remembering January

January, the first month of the year, when you start off gung-ho and ready to conquer anything.  I had plans, and dreams, and they kind of petered out.

Sometimes other stuff just gets in the way like helping my dad move 30-plus years of stuff, packing up my mom’s treasures and trinkets, and saying goodbye to the home where I grew up.  Add in sweet girlies visiting for a weekend and a trip to celebrate the MR’s birthday and my list is woefully behind.

The MR did add a fresh coat of paint to the ceilings upstairs.  https://bigwhitehouseonthehill.wordpress.com/2016/01/08/the-contrast-of-white/ brings a hint of freshness to everything.

Snow Day

He was working hard and edged around all the windows, the stairs, and the kitchen area in the hangout room.  Now that my dad has moved out, the MR will have his weekends back and finish up in no time.

I do really like my https://bigwhitehouseonthehill.wordpress.com/2016/01/13/make-it-mod/ plant stand.  I’ve been inspired to add a few more details, and yes, the plant is looking good with a little new soil and some TLC.

IMG_2404

Me and the MR both agree that our lemons are a lighter shade of green than when I pictured them in https://bigwhitehouseonthehill.wordpress.com/2016/01/15/anticipation/.  Of course, it’s still dark—I’m watching the sunrise as I type—and we just got back from a lovely weekend in Arizona, so you’ll just have to trust me when I say it’s lighter, dare I say ripening.

IMG_2400

It’s not a bad place to put down my thoughts of a morning.

Sunrise Cocoa Blog

Sadly, the picture boxes are still stacked in the garage and piled on the china buffet.  Did I tell you my mom really liked taking photos?  I said it here, by the end of February, they’ll be gone.

Boxes

We’ll say it’s ironic that I blogged about photos and didn’t include any in my post. Here’s the boxes from my dad’s minus five. As you can see, I have my work cut out for me.

We spent the last weekend in Sedona escaping from the wet and gloom.  While we’ve had more rain in the last four months than we usually receive in a year, we do get the occasional sunny day.  You can bet me and the MR take those opportunities to spend a little time on the deck enjoying the https://bigwhitehouseonthehill.wordpress.com/2016/01/25/river-views/.

River View

While it’s fun to visit new places, I’m oh-so glad to be home with crazy dogs, boxes of photos, tons of ladybugs (it’s the season), and my sweet life.

February is going to be a good month; I just know it.

How’s your year going so far?

2 thoughts on “Remembering January

Leave a Reply

