Share Your Stories

I was talking to my sister-in-law the other day, and she mentioned she’d donated some of her mom’s costume jewelry to a charity that helps women get back on their feet.  She said that she didn’t know where they came from or who had owned them, her mom may have known, but the stories died with her.

That reminded me of an afternoon with my dad.  We’d been cleaning out the basement, and even though my mom’s been gone for 10 years now, it’s still hard to part with her treasures.  I told him it was OK to let go of these things if they weren’t his style and pointed to a large, purple glass vase that had been around for ages.  I figured it was a safe bet that he’d want to get rid of that.

That’s when he told me a story of when they were newlyweds.  Now, I knew the draft notice had showed up on Valentine’s Day bumping their summer wedding to March, and how they spent hours making ceramics on base as cheap entertainment, I’d even heard how my aunt and cousins came to visit and my oldest cousin flushed a watch down the toilet and grabbed a plate off the wall and smashed it on the floor.  Those were the tales of early marriage that I’d grown up hearing.

This was a new one.  When they were first married, my grandma came to visit, and they took her across the border to Juarez.  They’d visited a glass blowing factory where they had watched them make a purple vase.  My grandma had bought a similar one and brought it home.

I remembered seeing it in her house filled with grass plumes, and after her death it had come to my parents.  It was more than just a glass vase—it was memories, and good time, and laughter.

IMG_2496

My dad admitted it wasn’t really his style…  I told him not to worry; I’d find a place for it.

Share your stories before it’s too late.

 

9 thoughts on “Share Your Stories

  1. I am SO glad my Dad liked to tell his stories, from his childhood to the very end of his life. My Mom, not so much, and really not at all.. Her early life was hard, her sister passed, Their father left, and 2 other men married her Mom, and then left and her Mom had to go to work, and she put my Mom in an orphanage for a year, until she was able to take care of Mom. and till the day Mom passed, she was embarrassed by her ‘early life’. When our son (your MR) was getting married to you, and the whole family was staying at our house, and during that happy time, the big table was always full of people, of food and of drink. One late afternoon my sister and I were finally able to “get Mom to tell her story”. She started out by saying “I am going to tell the whole thing just this once, and never again……….so take notes”.. The telling of her story touched us all so tenderly and emotionally, I forgot to write down her story, and by the time she finished. her sad, and to her, embarrassing, story was never to be heard again. And ‘our new story for Mom, was, that she loved all of us around that table who listened to her great burden she had carried with her all her life, we only felt love and compassion toward the freedom it must have given to her, to ‘let it go once and for all. .

  2. Reading your blog about the vase and Juarez, and your Mom and Dad, I along with my x-husband were with them and your grandma.. I think it was a karma Gia (sp) that she drove down… And yes, we used to do the ceramics, making a beautiful nativity set.. oh boy, did you ever bring back the memories…
    Thanks for giving me a “blast from the past” Your Dad had mentioned in his note at Christmas that he was downsizing, I know it is a hard thing to do..
    Sharon

    • So fun to hear from you. My grandma sure loved that car. She was still driving it when I showed up a few years later. My family has the nativity set we had growing up and my brother has the one they made for grandma a lifetime ago. Glad I brought back some good memories. 😊

  3. This makes me think of Jase, our grandson and your nephew, who loves to hear all the old stories. His fear is that someday there won’t be anyone to tell the stories. This makes it even more important to tell the stories to our kids and grandkids so they can pass them on. Thanks Kim for your “stories”.

  4. I have a vase that I love and look at daily that was Derrick’s grandmother’s vase. Vases can be so special.
    Bonnie

  5. Pingback: February Fun | big white house on the hill

Leave a Reply

