February Fun

Reading back through the stories of February, I’m surprised to find how they intertwine.  New lights upstairs turn into new flashlights for late time walks that end with the sweet smell of daphne.  My dad’s stories, recipe stories, and seed stories all spill out.

Maybe gardening, family life, and even knitting require problem solving, planning ahead, and the joy of sharing stories.  So here’s the low-down on life at the big white house on the hill this past month.

It started off celebrating the MR’s birthday with https://bigwhitehouseonthehill.wordpress.com/2016/02/10/a-taste-of-sedona/.  We hiked, shopped, ate, and spent time with family surrounded by beauty.

IMG_2472

It sounds a lot like they way we finished off the month with a quick trip to Oregon where we visited our sweet lovelies.  We toured Baby Girl’s studio and got to see up close and personal all of her interesting projects.

BGs Studio

Then while BG headed off to a dance, Sweet Miss took us out on the town.  We stayed out till almost 11 pm—way past our bed time.  Yes, we’re middle-aged.

Me & SM

With my dad moving to his new home, we had lots of time for remembrances this month. He told me about touring the glass factory and my grandma’s buying the purple vase.  It’s important to https://bigwhitehouseonthehill.wordpress.com/2016/02/05/share-your-stories/ before they’re forgotten.

IMG_2496

Looking through https://bigwhitehouseonthehill.wordpress.com/2016/02/24/the-old-recipe-box/ reminded me of my mom’s friends and the women of my childhood.  Simple slips of paper brought back potlucks and parties filled with laughter and the joy of cooking for friends and family.

Recipes

Maybe that why https://bigwhitehouseonthehill.wordpress.com/2016/02/19/exchanging-seeds-advice-and-stories/will make gardening that much better this year.  I’m looking forward to growing that giant gourd/pumpkin after hearing the farmer tell how he created this marvel with years of cross-pollination.  Don’t worry; I’ll post pictures.

Planning for success was the theme scattered throughout the month.  Sometimes you have to own your mistakes like in Building Up and Tearing Down where we pulled out the diseased nectarine tree and replaced it with two heartier varieties and began dismantling the decorative garden beds in the kitchen garden.

BU Garden Closer

I still have a lot of work to do before my spring garden can go in.  Let’s hope for some sunshine on a non-golfing afternoon.

Sometimes planning is less about being “right” and more about finding a way to be successful like in https://bigwhitehouseonthehill.wordpress.com/2016/02/17/solutions-and-an-umbrella-stand/ where we found a way to help an old dog make it through the night.  As an added bonus, we’ve added a decorative element to the entry, and we get enjoy the fragrance of daphne as we return from our late night walks (check out https://bigwhitehouseonthehill.wordpress.com/2016/02/15/dreaming-of-spring/).

daphne closeup

Then there’s times you’ve cut corners, you’ve made excuses, and it’s a mess; remember https://bigwhitehouseonthehill.wordpress.com/2016/02/29/the-dreaded-yeah-buts/.  That’s where I tried to force my sister-in-law to wear a hat that’s four inches too narrow.  Her head isn’t abnormally large, I just failed to plan properly.

Sometimes, you’ve given in and believe it is what it is.  There’s no solution; you just have to live with it.  I was certain the rooms upstairs were just dark.  I mean obviously they have fewer windows and lower ceilings.  It’s just the way it is.  https://bigwhitehouseonthehill.wordpress.com/2016/02/08/rethinking-light/ can be as simple as changing a light bulb.  We still haven’t figured out how to reposition the ones downstairs, but I have faith.

When we were hanging up artwork at my dad’s new place, the print over the couch ended up off center.  When I pointed it out, my dad suggested that we can always move the couch.  I guess I could move the easy chair, but I haven’t reached that level of desperation quite yet.

Spotlight

I’m having issues uploading the photos from last weekend.  If they show up as random boxes, my apologies.  I have no clue what’s going on.  I type, I edit, I upload.  I’ve done my part. 🙂

Hope your February was fun and fabulous.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

