Unexpected Bounty

You may have noticed that I’ve been missing in action.  Well, me and the MR have been out of town for 15 of the last 25 days.  First we traveled to Maui for his work’s annual vacation and then it was off to Cacun for a business conference plus a few days beforehand for fun.

Before we left, I had a plan.  I had blog posts all set up for the week.  I just needed to edit a few photos, get back down to the orchard for a quick close-up of apple blossoms, and post something from our trip—all set.  Instead of getting it done on Tuesday night, I watched TV with my guy on the couch.

So I had a rather rude awakening at 5 am, when the MR told me the power was out. Didn’t they know I was meeting a friend for coffee, I had to go shopping because apparently Cancun is a lot fancier than Hawaii, I had to get a pedicure (sandy beaches tear up your feet), it was my afternoon to work at the knit shop, we had small group in the evening, and I still had to pack?

Needless to say, that little power outage meant things went black around here for a week or so—not in real life just on the blog.  But we did have a fabulous trip, I did manage to get all those things done, and I came home to a few packages that’ll I get to share with you soon.

So what was that amazing blog post you’ve been waiting for for weeks? It was all about onions.  Hmm, I know, I have pictures of flowers, and pyramids, and cenotes.  You’ll just have to wait.  Today, the topic is onions.

You see I’ve been planting onions for the last few years to deter critters from visiting our garden.  The first year, we had success; last year, not so much.  The onions did fine, the critters came anyways, and before too long the zucchini plants swallowed up the whole onion planting.  To be honest, I figured they were a loss.  Oh well, a few onion sets don’t cost much.

That’s why I was surprised this spring to see a dense line of onions along the edge of the garden.  Now these were somewhere between the green onion and regular onion size and so smooshed together they’d never be able to get any bigger.  So I thinned them out.

UB Onions

Now what to do with all those onions when you’re headed out of town?  That’s when I remembered college days and Red Robin—yes, the burger place, just stick with me here.  Back in the days when $5 or $6 for a burger where out of my budget, I discovered that you could purchase a cup of French onion soup at Red Robin for about half that price.  I could still go out with friends for dinner and enjoy something tasty and cheap.

Of course French onion soup calls for regular size onions, but I say use what you’ve got.  I washed, sliced, carmelized, and sweated onions for hours ending up with a tasty soup I heated up after work.  Topped with melted cheeses and a sliced baguette, it was the perfect meal on a chilly, wet night.

I was sure I took a picture of our dinner in cute little Campbell’s soup bowls, but it’s not on the camera, or my phone, or my Ipad.  So you’ll just have to trust me; it was tasty.

I love how abundance in the garden can force you to try new things or perhaps old favorites.

How do you like your onions?  Any overwinter suprises in the garden?

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Unexpected Bounty

  1. I am sure I can speak for everyone reading your blog “we are so glad you are back!!” Yup, we had 6 pea pods left over the winter, for dinner the other night. My potatoes are coming up and I have made delicious chicken soup with my rosemary and thyme that are loving our weather. MeeMee

  2. For me it is garlic. I planted some cloves that had started to “grow” in the fridge a few years back. And then I forgot about them. Every spring I see a nice line of green tops and remember them. Then, I forget to water or even pay attention, they die back and I think that I have waited too long and they are no good. But alas, the next spring I again have a nice line of green tops. Maybe this year I will actually harvest them.

    • It’s so easy to forget about those root vegetables and alliums. You could schedule an event on your phone every Monday in September that says harvest garlic. Then you don’t have to remember, you just have to hope for a dry day to do it. Good luck!

  3. Pingback: Another Awesome April | big white house on the hill

Leave a Reply

