The Sweet Smell of Success

You know how when you’re a blogger, and time is tight, you think up quick and easy posts to publish on vacation, so no one will even notice you’re gone it’s so smooth and seamless? And then the power goes out, and you have coffee, and shopping, and the demands of the real world?

Well, lucky for you (and me), the apple blossoms were still in bloom when we arrived home from Mexico, and I didn’t have to waste my clever title.  Let me assure you, their scent is even sweeter than their blooms.

SSofS Apple Blossoms

All the other fruit trees have already blossomed and begun setting fruit.  This is the point where I was going to show you a picture of lovely gumball-sized plums hanging from a limb.  Unfortunately, my photo turned out more like a strange green blob amongst the leaves.  I’m still in my pj’s, so you’re just going to have to use your imagination for that one.

The blueberries are in full bloom.  I love the clusters of delicate flowers.

SSofS Blueberry Blossoms

And the currant bushes are loaded with tiny berries.

SSofS Currants

We’ve got a few peas, beets, lettuce, and spinach up in the garden.  I was low on seeds, so when I say a few, I mean a few. Anyways, we haven’t finished leveling out the former raised beds, but this might be a good weekend for a little gardening. I imagine I can pick up a few starts at the hardware store.

I’m looking forward to berries and fruit this summer and fall.  Here’s hoping that this will be the first year for a real harvest in our young orchard—patience Kim, patience.

Are your fruit trees in bloom?  How do you feel about edible landscaping?

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Sweet Smell of Success

  1. We love having edible landscaping, in and around the cacti and bushes. We are attracting more bees and hummingbirds which are all hard at work pollenising. We even decided to NOT plant new grass, and just make it be flowers and foods back yard. Very fun.

  2. Pingback: Another Awesome April | big white house on the hill

  3. Pingback: How to Banish Blossom Rot From Your Tomato Garden | Splendid Recipes and More

Leave a Reply

