Bit by Bit

Sometimes pulling things together takes awhile. Remember how I had this painting that I loved and I hung it up even though the wall was totally off balance and really needed something more? (If you have no idea what I’m talking about and think I’m just rambling on again, check out Now That’s Art.)

That lack of balance drives me a little crazy, and since my Etsy art purchases have gone so well, I decided to do a little more shopping. That’s when I found a tiny 6×6″ beauty. I know it’s still not big enough to balance out my other artwork, but I just really loved it.

It reminded me of Rome, and me and the MR’s 10th anniversary when we wandered the streets, admiring the beautiful, honey-colored buildings. We’re talking about going back someday. Until then I can look at my little gem and dream.

BbB Up close

I know, and now you’re squinting, and looking again, and saying really, Kim? Rome? But oh my friend, take a step back.

BbB in place

It’s a tiny city, a magical place, that just draws you in. I bought this piece from Terri Edwards on Etsy. Part of the joy of shopping online is being able to support artists from around the world.

I did find a few pieces that would balance out the other side, but the MR gently reminded me that we’d paid two college tuitions, property taxes, and traveled extensively last month. He suggested I wait. At least, he didn’t balk at my visiting the girls.

Wishing all the mothers, aunts, sisters, and women who’ve loved and supported children, Happy Mother’s Day.

BbB Me Girls Whales

I know these two make my heart sing.

What are you hanging on your walls? Any plans for Mother’s Day?

 

 

4 thoughts on “Bit by Bit

  1. Wow, you chose just right…………..as far as I know the ONLY way to buy art of any kind, is to say to yourself (or to anyone who is listening) “I love this with my whole heart, and I want it”.By doing that, you are buying from your heart, and not your head, which by the way likes to challenge and debate what you know is truly yourself. You go girl, you did the best for your heart. Surround yourself with the things you love………..MeeMee

  2. I love how you displayed this! It goes so well with the large piece, and your kind words make me so happy to have been the artist that you chose to decorate your lovely living space. All the best to you, Kim! Terri

  3. Pingback: May Days | big white house on the hill

Leave a Reply

