Filling in the Holes

A couple weeks ago, I went to the plant sale up at the high school. I always supported the FFA club when the girls were members and wanted to do my part now that they’ve moved on.

I was out of town the first week of the sale, so I ended up at the tail end with two-for-one bargains. I bought broccoli, onions, and a cucumber plant for the garden and was determined to fill in some of the holes in the upper flower beds. I came home with the back of the car full of plants after a nice chat with the FFA advisor.

I know last year, we hired landscapers to put in a lawn and deck out the beds with ornamental rocks, trees, and flowers. Unfortunately, some of the plants didn’t make it over the winter, and some were annuals so they’d have to be replaced, and some proved to be too tasty of a treat for the local wildlife. So when I was shopping, I looked for hairy stems and fuzzy leaves to try to keep the deer away.

I’d noticed that heuchera was doing well, so I picked up a few in a lovely apricot-orange in sharp contrast to the deep purply-black of the plants from last year. These perrenials should fill in and add color for years to come.

C Heuchera

To replace last years New Guinea impatiens, which added mounds of beautiful color that the deer totally ate up, I bought geraniums and begonias. They’re still annuals, but I’m hoping they’re not as palatable and will thrive over the summer.

C Flower Bed

I like being able to change things up a little each year. I went for tone-on-tone this time with more pink and pink, but I could buy white to brighten things up or an exotic black to bring some depth, or purple to blend with the chives and sage. If you look carefully, you’ll see we also added some sweet alyssum. I love how they spread and make a carpet of tiny flowers.

If you look closely, you’ll see the new deck furniture the MR bought. I have plans for some throw pillows to add a little color, and I need to get out the outdoor carpet, if only the sunshine would return.

I also bought some hens and chicks for the planting area under the portico. It’s just so dry that we’ve struggled to find anything that will do well in that spot. We had hens and chicks under the living room window at my parents’ house in Renton. It was one of the first plants I ever learned the name of, so I picked up a few partly for nostalgia and partly because succulents can survive in all sorts of difficult growing conditions.

What are you planting in your flowerbeds? Any deer-resistant favorites?

2 thoughts on “Filling in the Holes

  1. Pingback: May Days | big white house on the hill

Leave a Reply

