Sweet Red Gems

June has only just arrived, and they’re already picking strawberries in the valley, and we’re enjoying currants up here on the hill.

I’m not sure what possessed me to buy a currant bush five or six years ago. The leaves were ridged and cut, the plant was attractive, and hey, it produced edible fruit. Sounded like a winner to me. The MR moved the currant bush and the blueberries from our old house to here, but I never really took notice of it until the deer.

You see the deer nibbled on the blueberry bushes without mercy, but they totally ignored the currant bush. I figured it was time to get a few more. And as they matured, they’ve started to produce more and more berries.

Now currants aren’t something we ever ate growing up. You might buy dried currants for your soda bread or singing hinnies, but red currants were unheard of in my house. So I went online and skimmed for recipes. One of my favorites encorporates currants in a meal rather than treats. With just me and the MR at home, I can’t afford to have piles of cakes and muffins around—not and keep track of my waistline.

It features braised chicken thighs with red currants, tomatoes, olives, and lemons. We had it for dinner last night, and it’s been a staple currant recipe for the last few years. If you’d like to make it, check out Apron & Sneakers Braised Mediterranen Chicken; it’s quite lovely.

As the season progresses, I’ll be making La Tartine Gourmand’s Raspberry, Currant Popsicles. This classic summer treat is simple, beautiful, and oh, so tasty.

Looking through recipes online, I came across simple popsicles featuring currants, oranges, bananas, and ginger at Hungray Shots, and some truly luscious-looking cupcakes decorated with currants at Bake Noir. Then there’s the strawberry-currant crisp that’s gluten-free and everything at Our Four Forks. (The link’s not working, so just go to the web site and search. Sorry for the trouble.)

Between Tastespotting and Pinterest, the options are endless. Thankfully, so are these beauties for the moment.

Currants Close Up

Any favorite currant recipes you’d like to share? How about strawberry recipes? I’ll be spending a few hours at the local farms soon.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Sweet Red Gems

  1. This is so cool! I’ve never seen fresh currants in my life. They look like grapes. I love strawberries too – attended a class for (Japanese-style) strawberry shortcake a few months back, which was a bit of a disappointment because I think there wasn’t enough strawberries in my cake. So the jury’s still out on that recipe, but in general strawberry shortcake is awesome 🙂

    • Currants do look a lot like teeny-tiny grapes. And strawberry shortcake is awesome! Whether it’s served over a crumbly biscuit or a bit of sponge cake, lots of sweet, juicy strawberries is the key.

  2. Pingback: Sweet Red Gems | big white house on the hill – WORLD ORGANIC NEWS

  3. Pingback: Garden & Orchard Updates | big white house on the hill

  4. Pingback: And Then There Was June | big white house on the hill

Leave a Reply

