On the Needles

I was thinking about it the other day. I haven’t shared recent knitting and crochet projects for awhile, and with multiple trips back and forth to Oregon over the last month coupled with down time at the yarn shop, I’ve had plenty of opportunity to knit and crochet to my hearts content.

So here’s a few of the projects from the last month. You have to remember that I finished Sweet Miss’ blanket in time for graduation, and I spent a few days on the local yarn shop tour back in May, so I was itching to start something new, and quick, and pretty, and easy.

I spent most of the trip back and forth to graduation designing a “Shoulderette”. It’s somewhere between a shrug and a shawl.  The pattern is free with purchase at Quintessential Knits. I talked Baby Girl and Cocoa into modeling for me.

Shoulderette Collage

Some time in June, I decided to make the crocheted cowl from All Wound Up. I followed the instructions exactly including the hook size even though it seemed way larger than I would have chosen.  Sometimes it pays to listen to your instincts.

Cowl Xwide & tape measure

But it was a cowl, and can it really be too wide? Does gauge really matter? Yes, yes it can and does. It was supposed to be about 34-inches wide not nearly 40 inches. I ended up taking it all out and starting over again. It wound up much closer to the expected size.

Cowl Take 2

I think it will be great come fall.

Cowl Modeling

I also made the scarf from Acorn Street Shop. I wasn’t excited about the yarn they featured with their LYS pattern, but I had a few skeins of beige-to-peach at home that were waiting to be used. I was totally surprised as I worked up the yarn to come across vibrant coral.

Before I blocked my scarf, it looked a little, OK a lot, wonky.

Wonky scarf

But that’s what blocking wires are for. They turn a crazy looking scarf into a thing of beauty. I simply soaked the scarf for about 20 minutes in a sink full of warm water with a few drops of Eucalan (wool wash). Then I weaved in the wires and used T-pins to move it into place. Let it dry and you have a thing of beauty.

Blocked ScarfOK, so maybe the lime green beach towel isn’t the best backdrop, but you get the idea.  The yarn I used was in a finer weight than the pattern called for, but with two balls of yarn, I wound up with a lovely scarf. I’m quite pleased.

Scarf Selfie

I’m not a big selfie fan, put I looked “deer in the headlights” crazy when I ran in front of the camera on the self-timer for the other photo. You’re just going to have to deal. Wrinkle remover is a paid feature on PicMonkey, so you get me in all my glory. 🙂

I also crocheted Country Yarn’s featured pattern the Lattice & Blossom Scarf. Have I mentioned that tencel is a lovely fiber to work with? Or that crocheting allows you to scream through patterns oh-so quickly? This tencel yarn has beautiful drape and sheen along with a richness of color.

Lattice & Blossom Scarf

I have been knitting up the Tea Cozy Summer Poncho in a beatuiful sik blend and have another road trip in the works, so it’ll be done soon. I’ve been working on a sample pattern for the yarn shop using an ombre yarn that moves from beige to taupe to dark brown and back. By pulling from one end of the ball and then from the other, I wound up with some beautiful contrast. Some of those new yarns make colorwork a no-brainer.

I also saw some recycled t-shirt yarn gift bags on Etsy and have been inspired. All those pot holders I made a few years ago that are really too loosely woven to be “safe” pot holders I’ve been reworking into gift bags. The yarn sheds like crazy, and I’ve learned new ways of making a long length of yarn rather than making so many knots… Live and learn.

I’ll share some of my gift bags in the monthly recap. One good thing about being the only part of the country that’s rainy and overcast this summer, you’re totally content staying indoors and playing with yarn.

I did send Sweet Miss and her Fella’ home this weekend with broccoli, blueberries, beets, and some giant cucumbers from the garden and orchard. And her roommate also received a jar of jam ensconced in a crocheted t-shirt yarn gift bag.

It might break 80-degrees this week for the first time in July. I think things are looking up.

Any projects in your queue?

 

 

4 thoughts on “On the Needles

  1. Oh my, I certainly enjoyed this blog as it reminded me of my Mom and how she also was rarely seen without a creative project made of yarn. She wanted “she ran out of yarn” written on her tombstone. You also had another project that you did not mention, stitching up and rejoining the green and yellow pad on Baby Girl’s blanket that had received much love while she enjoyed her first year in college. Also thank you for all the lovely of you two as well as your creations. MeeMee

      • So glad that both of my kids and their families were able to see each other in the last couple of weeks. That just makes me so, so happy. Live is lovely, thank you for being a big part of it. MK

  2. Pingback: July Is Gone | big white house on the hill

Leave a Reply

