Good, Simple Food

What’s a mom to do when the only other beet-lover in the family moves out? Sweet Miss was home for the weekend, and I sent her home with a few freshly picked beets, but I failed to serve up some roasted beet salad or other treats while she was here. 

It’s disheartening to make a dish that the rest of the family refuses to eat. The MR and Baby Girl are confirmed beet-haters. It just takes the joy out of the situation when I eat beets around them. 

That’s when I came up with a fabulous idea. Everyone’s on their own for breakfast. Why not eat beets in the morning? No one complains or turns up their nose, and I can eat them to my heart’s content. 

I toasted some leftover French bread, spread on some fresh cheese, and added sliced, roasted beets. Then I topped it with some local honey and a sprinkle of dried thyme from our herb garden. 

Simple foods combined for a satisfying breakfast. 


I know what I’m having for breakfast tomorrow. Maybe I’ll mix things up and drizzle on some basalmic vinegar and some toasted walnuts. 

What’s on your menu for breakfast?

3 thoughts on “Good, Simple Food

  1. That sounds so great, and I baked some beets just yesterday, and we had some left over from dinner, so think I will have them for breakfast tomorrow………….unless Larry eats them for lunch today. Thank you for the great idea.

  2. Pingback: July Is Gone | big white house on the hill

Leave a Reply

