Herb-alicious

While the kitchen garden has had its issues, our herbs are doing great. But what do you do with all those herbs? Watch them go to seed?

Unfortunately, most years, the answer is yes. I just watch them flower and die. But recently, I saw a post about chopping them up, adding some oil, and freezing them for later. What a great idea!

Rosemary

Rosemary & Oil

I have this great marinade for flank steak with rosemary, oil, garlic, and red wine. It’s been a family favorite forever. Now, I just have to grab a few cubes of the rosemary infused oil and I’m half-way there.

Rosemary Cubes Closeup

Let’s be honest. It’s a lot more likely that I’m going to go outside with my sheers on a beautiful summer day than in a chilly November rainstorm. And those fresh herbs from the grocery store cost an arm and a leg.

Now I have rosemary, thyme, oregano, basil, mint, sage, and chives to deal with. I see a sweet smelling afternoon in my future.

Herbs in Colander

 

What’s your favorite way to use fresh herbs?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Herb-alicious

  1. Pingback: Sacred Plants spellsforall.com...................................................

  2. Pingback: Celebrating August | big white house on the hill

Leave a Reply

