Saving the Harvest

While our garden and orchard have been hit and miss due to the cool summer, animal intrusion, and redoing of the beds, we did enjoy a ton of broccoli, some really nice onions, and a few beets.

As you may remember, I can only eat so much broccoli. Come winter, I usually heat up corn, peas, or green beans and call it good when it comes to a side dish. I was thinking I should really make more of an effort in that department, and since I was tired of broccoli, I thought maybe pickled broccoli would be the answer. I know, my family doesn’t really eat pickles, but this is broccoli not cucumbers, so maybe it would be OK.

It all started when a few weeks ago, me and the MR went shopping with my dad; and on the way home, we stopped at a local farm and picked a couple baskets of tomatoes. No, we don’t love tomatoes that much either, but Sweet Miss complimented my Smokey Tomato Jam (or rather Putting Up with Erin’s Smokey Tomato Jam), so of course I had to make some for her October care package.

And since I was there, and I’d really liked the jam, I decided to check out what other recipes Erin had on her blog. That’s when I came across Pepper Pickled Broccoli, Beet, Carrot, and Apple Slaw, and Roasted Onion and Sage Jam. Have I mentioned that we have a banner crop of sage, too?

Now, I’m not sure how they all turned out. The onion jam was quite lovely on a cracker with a touch of cream cheese, and I can imagine it would make a wonderful glaze over a pork roast. The pickled broccoli and the beet slaw are supposed to hang around for three weeks or so before we try them out. You want all those flavors to meld, so I’ve been practicing patience. I’m just excited to have a ready supply of beets that I can eat in moderation; the MR chooses to abstain.

I really like tomato jam spread on a grilled cheese sandwich with all that gooey cheese. I have pretty fancy tastes as you can see.

All my jars have been sitting on the counter, but soon they’ll be adding some color and beauty to the pantry and a dose of flavor to our winter menus.canned-goods

Any favorite recipes for your fall harvest? Do you have a canning web site you like to use?

(Sadly, my links are on the blink, so Putting Up with Erin is the blog where I found these amazing recipes. Google Smokey Tomato Jam, and you’ll end up in the right spot.)

3 thoughts on “Saving the Harvest

  1. Oh, I would like to know what kind of Sage you have. We have fantastically beautiful sage bushes all over the yard, but I think that is not the sage you can eat. I absolutely love how you and your sister-in-law use so many different spices to season your meals………….I do believe that because of that your children will always be ‘gourmands’ instead of fast food consumers. Thank you ladies/mommies, nice job. Grandma MeeMee

  2. We grow both common sage (Salvia officinalis) and pineapple sage. We also grow Russian sage which is part of the same family, but not a salvia, and isi poisonous. With that in mind, I’d look online to to try to identify your sage plants. If they appear to be the culinary sage, crush a leaf and see if they pass the sniff test. If it doesn’t smell like the herb, you’ve got the wrong one. Your local garden center could also be a knowledgeable resource. We’ve been growing sage and thyme since our first spring here, since deer don’t like to nibble on them. All in all, I’d err on the side of caution. Good luck!

  3. Pingback: A Look Back at September & October 2016 | big white house on the hill

Leave a Reply

