Giving Back

Me and the MR have been traveling a bit. Earlier this month we moved Baby Girl into her townhouse down at school. We’re lucky that she’s only half a days drive from home but with 10 hours round trip, it still makes for a lot of driving.

Since the MR prefers to be behind the wheel, I try to make sure I have a project or two for our days on the road.This last trip to Oregon, I brought along purple yarn for baby hats.

Recently I’d heard about a program educating new parents about the fragile nature of infants. Click For Babies seeks to reduce shaken baby syndrome through awareness.

I love my girls, and I also know how hard it can be to deal with a crying baby when you’re sleep-deprived and haven’t had a minute to yourself in what seems like forever.

I made a hat, a sweater, and a blanket for the MR’s friend at work, and it gave me a great idea. The hat was super-simple to put together. I could take all the bits and pieces of purple yarn from home on our drive and still chit-chat with the MR over endless miles without missing a stitch.

By the time we got home (a short 606 miles back and forth), I had quite a collection going.

I do believe a few flowers are in order to spruce these up a bit. Then I need to figure out where to send them.

I’m finding ways to decrease my stash of yarn and maybe make the world a better place. Wish me luck.

What’s your favorite charity project (knitting or not)?

2 thoughts on “Giving Back

  1. Oh my, that baby set was just darling!! Love the colors and the details. You are so talented. I guess my talents for getting rid of clutter and giving to others, is with my yearly garage sale. Thus far, the garage sales have helped 15 women attain their education goals, by giving $21,800.00 in scholarships. Yahoo!!

    On Wed, Sep 27, 2017 at 4:49 AM big white house on the hill wrote:

    > bigwhitehouseonthehill posted: “Me and the MR have been traveling a bit. > Earlier this month we moved Baby Girl into her townhouse down at school. > We’re lucky that she’s only half a days drive from home but with 10 hours > round trip, it still makes for a lot of driving. Since the MR prefe” >

  2. Pingback: September & October–A Fall Couplet | big white house on the hill

Leave a Reply

